‘Apple Pie’ Oatmeal

The first time I created this recipe I ate this for breakfast 8 days in a row… excessive, I know. I was just so surprised that something I was used to having for dessert and felt guilty afterwards could be turned into a nutritious breakfast meal.

This breakfast option is great on the go, you could make it from the night before and just heat it up when you’re ready to eat it. I personally like to make it the morning I decide to have it for breakfast just so my house is filled with apple pie aroma.

Ingredients:

  • 1 Apple (any apple of your choice, I used a gala apple but if you have a granny smith it will make it even more ‘apple pie’ like.
  • 1/2 cup of Oats
  • Cinnamon
  • Nutmeg
  • 1/2-1 cup of Water or almond milk
  • 1-2 tbsp of Flax seed (optional)
  • Brown sugar or agave (optional)
  • Craisins (optional)
  • Chopped Walnuts (optional)

You’ll notice that most of the optional ingredients I listed is merely based on taste preference. So if you’re not a fan of craisins or walnuts then opt for something else to add a bit of crunch. I sometimes add a bit of my homemade (oil free) vegan granola if I have it on hand. I do recommend to add a bit of flax seed, chia seed, or some additional source of health since this is a breakfast food.

Directions:

  1. Place a bit of water into a small pot and turn the stove top on medium heat
  2. When the water starts to heat up (almost evaporating) add 3/4 of the chopped up apple pieces
  3. Add more water if needed.
  4. Let the apples sit in the water until it gets a bit cooked down
  5. Add the cinnamon, brown sugar and nutmeg to the mix
  6. Continue to stir/ watch the pot until the water becomes a sticky consistency from the cinnamon
  7. Add the oats and flaxseed to the pot and add almond milk or water as needed
  8. Stir until the oats are cooked and the apples are mixed in
  9. Pour oats into a bowl or to-go container
  10. Add the rest of the chopped apples, chopped walnuts, craisins or granola on top.
  11. Enjoy 🙂

This recipe takes about 5-7 minutes and typically keeps me full throughout the morning, I find myself snacking less when I have oatmeal for breakfast. You could also make this for a desert and add a bit of non-dairy ice cream on the side.

UntilNextTime

 

 

Leave a Reply

